The Football League was formally founded on the 17 April, 1888 at the Royal Hotel in Manchester, after a month of organization between William McGregor (a director at Aston Villa) and the 12 clubs who came to start the first season of league football in September of that year.

Of those twelve founding members, all but one have had success in the league and most have been in the four tiers ever since.

Here's how their fortunes have faired along with the major domestic honours:
Club Current Tier Notes
AccringtonFolded in 1896 after five years in the football league
Aston Villa17 Titles and 7 FA Cups
Blackburn Rovers23 Titles and 6 FA Cups
Bolton Wanderers34 FA Cups and 2 League Cups
Burnley12 Titles and 1 FA Cup
Derby County32 Titles and 1 FA Cup
Everton19 titles, 5 FA Cups, 2 League Cups and a Cup Winners Cup
Notts County41 FA Cup win
Preston North End2Champions twice (in the first 2 seasons) and 2 FA Cups
Stoke City21 League Cup
West Bromwich Albion21 Title and 5 FA Cups
Wolverhampton Wanderers13 Titles, 4 FA Cups and 2 League Cups