These are the seasons we were Promoted (9 times), Relegated (9 times) or Champions of the first tier (just once)
Season Clinching Game
Season Tier League Name Position Result Manager Date Opponent Score Result
1891-922Football Alliance1ChampionsHarry Radford-
1905-061English First Division19RelegatedHarry Hallam-
1906-072English Second Division1ChampionsHarry HallamApr 13, 1907West Bromwich Albion3-1W
1910-111English First Division20RelegatedFred EarpApr 15, 1911Bristol City1-5L
1921-222English Second Division1ChampionsBob MastersApr 22, 1922Stoke City3-1W
1924-251English First Division22RelegatedBob Masters-
1939-400World War IIBilly WalkerAug 26, 1939Barnsley1-4L
1948-492English Second Division21RelegatedBilly WalkerMay 07, 1949Bury1-0W
1950-513English Third Division (South)1ChampionsBilly WalkerMay 02, 1951Newport County2-1W
1956-572English Second Division2Billy WalkerApr 27, 1957Sheffield United4-0W
1971-721English First Division21RelegatedMatt Gillies-
1976-772English Second Division3Brian Clough-
1977-781English First Division1ChampionsBrian CloughApr 22, 1978Coventry City0-0D
1992-931F.A. Carling Premier League22RelegatedBrian CloughMay 01, 1993Sheffield United0-2L
1993-942Endsleigh League Division One2Frank ClarkApr 30, 1994Peterborough United3-2W
1996-971F.A. Carling Premiership20RelegatedDave BassettMay 03, 1997Wimbledon1-1D
1997-982Nationwide League Division One1ChampionsDave Bassett-
1998-991F.A. Carling Premiership20RelegatedRon AtkinsonApr 24, 1999Aston Villa0-2L
2004-052Coca-Cola Championship23RelegatedGary MegsonApr 30, 2005Queens Park Rangers1-2L
2007-083Coca-Cola League One2Colin CalderwoodMay 03, 2008Yeovil Town3-2W
2021-222Football League Championship5Steve CooperMay 29, 2022Huddersfield Town1-0W