SEASON: 1943-44


Prev Season: 1942-43
This Season: 1943-44
Next Season: 1944-45
DIVISION:
World War II
MANAGER(s):
FA Cup:
Not started
League Cup:
Not started

Top Goalscorer:


WHAT HAPPENED
Due to the Second World War, three initial leagues were in place this year.
A London league ran for 30 games, while separate West and Northern divisions ran until Christmas. These two separate leagues were combined for a full league for the rest of the season.
Also competed for was a Wartime Cup to replace the FA Cup. The first 9 Combined League games were also qualifying games for the cup, with the top 32 qualifying for the knockout rounds. Forest finished 34th and failed to qualify, so competed in a Midland Cup instead

Click here for all tables for 1943-44
GAME COUNTS
ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
0
Competitive Goals:
0
Goals per game:

LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)
Points Percentage:
%

GOALS
Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored
Conceded
Won By
Lost By

LEAGUE POSITION ANALYSIS
Analysis of the league positions
This table shows:
(a) how many days we spent in each of the league positions
(b) how we did when we played teams in each of the league positions.

Position days Record against teams in each position
Forest
Pos
Num Days Opp
Pos
PWDLFAPointsResults (Green=win; Blue=draw; Red=loss)


ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
-
Lowest League Attendance:
-
Average League Attendance:
-
Highest Cup Attendance:
-
Lowest Cup Attendance:
-

MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
0
Yellow cards:
0
Red cards:
0
Own goals (for):
(scored by opponents for us)
Own goals (against):
(scored by us for opponents)
Penalties scored:
0
Penalties conceded:
0
Penalties missed:
0
Penalties saved:
0


GAMES
 
Manager for all games: Billy Walker
WWII Main League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Aug 28, 1943ChesterfieldH1-2Loss3,503Beswick (?)
Sat Sep 04, 1943ChesterfieldA1-3Loss3,603Rhodes (?)
Sat Sep 11, 1943Lincoln CityA0-3Loss-
Sat Sep 18, 1943Lincoln CityH8-1Win2,500Beaumont (?, ?, ?), Wattie (?), Flewitt (?, ?, ?), Walker (?)
Sat Sep 25, 1943Mansfield TownH1-2Loss5,000Flewitt (?)
Sat Oct 02, 1943Mansfield TownA1-0Win3,500Walker (?)
Sat Oct 09, 1943Sheffield UnitedA1-1Draw-Flewitt (?)
Sat Oct 16, 1943Sheffield UnitedH4-0Win-Wheatley (?), Dulson (?), Flewitt (?, ?)
Sat Oct 23, 1943Derby CountyH4-3Win5,641Flewitt (?), Delaney (? OG), Johnson (?, ?)
Sat Oct 30, 1943Derby CountyA1-3Loss8,000Flewitt (?)
Sat Nov 06, 1943Notts CountyA1-0Win6,000Johnson (?)
Sat Nov 13, 1943Notts CountyH0-4Loss5,300
Sat Nov 20, 1943Leicester CityH1-0Win-Dulson (?)
Sat Nov 27, 1943Leicester CityA3-3Draw-Dulson (?), Johnson (?), Flewitt (?)
Sat Dec 04, 1943Lincoln CityA2-2Draw-Beaumont (?), Johnson (?)
Sat Dec 11, 1943Lincoln CityH1-1Draw-Dulson (?)
Sat Dec 18, 1943Northampton TownH2-2Draw1,631Walker (?), Dulson (?)
Sat Dec 25, 1943Northampton TownA1-9Loss-Wyles (? pen)

WWII Combined League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sun Dec 26, 1943Derby CountyA1-2Loss20,000Drury (?)
Sat Jan 01, 1944Derby CountyH1-1Draw9,790Beaumont (?)
Sat Jan 08, 1944Sheffield WednesdayA0-0Draw8,000
Sat Jan 22, 1944Notts CountyH0-0Draw6,803
Sat Jan 29, 1944Notts CountyA3-0Win8,000Hindley (?, ?), Beaumont (?)
Sat Feb 05, 1944Mansfield TownA1-0Win6,320Beaumont (?)
Sat Feb 12, 1944Mansfield TownH0-1Loss6,000
Sat Feb 19, 1944Leicester CityH1-0Win5,829Beaumont (?)
Sat Feb 26, 1944Leicester CityA1-1Draw-Wheatley (?)
Sat Mar 04, 1944West Bromwich AlbionA1-0Win3,392Dulson (?)
Sat Mar 11, 1944West Bromwich AlbionH3-2Win6,346Maund (?), Johnson (?, ?)
Sat Mar 18, 1944WalsallA0-0Draw-
Sat Mar 25, 1944WalsallH2-0Win5,000Dulson (?), Johnson (?)
Mon Apr 10, 1944Notts CountyH3-0Win8,958Beaumont (?), Wheatley (?), Johnson (?)

WWII Wartime Cup
WeekDateOpponentRoundLegH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Apr 01, 1944Coventry City11H4-1Win6,192Johnson (?), Flewitt (?), Dulson (?, ?)
Sat Apr 08, 1944Coventry City12A1-3Loss6,432Maund (?)
Sat Apr 15, 1944Northampton Town21H5-0Win10,000Flewitt (?), Dulson (?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Apr 22, 1944Northampton Town22A1-3Loss-Dulson (?)
Sat Apr 29, 1944West Bromwich Albion31A2-2Draw8,373Dulson (?, ?)
Sat May 06, 1944West Bromwich Albion32H3-4Loss14,438Steele (?), Johnson (?), Smith (? OG)



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and immediately after the season.
In (7) - £0 Out (4) - £0
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
Bryn ElliottBoughtKen HollisSold
Jack HutchinsonBoughtPoole (1944)Sold
Poole (1944)BoughtRobertson (1943)Sold
Stanley FlewittBought1945Percy AshtonSold
Victor WalkerBought
Mar 25, 1944Geoff Thomas (1944-60)BoughtFree
Jan 01, 1946Tanner AllenBought


SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num Country PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
Goalkeepers
GK EnglandHarry Riley
GKJ Oakley
GK EnglandLaurie Platts
GK EnglandNorman Wilkinson
GK EnglandPercy Ashton
GKRay Middleton
GKSH Jones
Defenders
D EnglandBilly Bean
D EnglandFrank Shufflebottom
D EnglandGeoff Thomas (1944-60)
D EnglandHarry Wyles
D EnglandJack Hutchinson
D EnglandJackie Parr
D EnglandJoe Crofts
D EnglandKen Hollis
DPoole (1944)
D EnglandReg Trim
D EnglandRonnie Hepworth
DWatson (1943)
Midfielders
MA Rhodes
M EnglandBob McCall
M EnglandBryn Elliott
MCliff Harrison
M EnglandCliff Hubbard
MD Long
M EnglandEddie Kilshaw
M EnglandFrank Hindley
MJ Beswick
M EnglandJohn Maund
M EnglandRaich Carter
M WalesRobert Davies
M ScotlandSeton Airlie
M EnglandTanner Allen
M EnglandTed Blagg
M EnglandVictor Walker
M EnglandWilliam Baxter
Forwards
F EnglandEric Betts
F EnglandFrank Bee
FFrank Johnson
F EnglandFred Hogg
F EnglandFreddie Steele
FGardner (1943)
F EnglandGeorge Drury
FGeorge Hiatt
F EnglandHarry Egan
FJohn Wattie
F EnglandLen Beaumont
FRalph Dulson
FRobertson (1943)
F EnglandRoland Wheatley
FStanley Flewitt
W Smith (1942)


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
Goals (Pens)PlayerGames


LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score