SEASON: 1944-45


Prev Season: 1943-44
This Season: 1944-45
Next Season: 1945-46
DIVISION:
World War II
MANAGER(s):
FA Cup:
Not started
League Cup:
Not started

Top Goalscorer:


WHAT HAPPENED
Due to the Second World War, three initial leagues were in place this year.
A London league ran for 30 games, while separate West and Northern divisions ran until Christmas. These two separate leagues were combined for a full league for the rest of the season.
Also competed for was a Wartime Cup to replace the FA Cup. The first 10 Combined League games were also qualifying games for the cup, with the top 32 qualifying for the knockout rounds. Forest finished 37th and failed to qualify.

Click here for all tables for 1944-45
GAME COUNTS
ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
0
Competitive Goals:
0
Goals per game:

LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)
Points Percentage:
%

GOALS
Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored
Conceded
Won By
Lost By

LEAGUE POSITION ANALYSIS
Analysis of the league positions
This table shows:
(a) how many days we spent in each of the league positions
(b) how we did when we played teams in each of the league positions.

Position days Record against teams in each position
Forest
Pos
Num Days Opp
Pos
PWDLFAPointsResults (Green=win; Blue=draw; Red=loss)


ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
-
Lowest League Attendance:
-
Average League Attendance:
-
Highest Cup Attendance:
-
Lowest Cup Attendance:
-

MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
0
Yellow cards:
0
Red cards:
0
Own goals (for):
(scored by opponents for us)
Own goals (against):
(scored by us for opponents)
Penalties scored:
0
Penalties conceded:
0
Penalties missed:
0
Penalties saved:
0


GAMES
 
Manager for all games: Billy Walker
WWII Main League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Aug 26, 1944Derby CountyH0-0Draw13,294
Sat Sep 02, 1944Derby CountyA0-5Loss9,936
Sat Sep 09, 1944Sheffield UnitedA0-2Loss7,909
Sat Sep 16, 1944Sheffield UnitedH2-2Draw7,904Inskip (?), Baxter (?)
Sat Sep 23, 1944Notts CountyH2-1Win9,536Beaumont (?), Beswick (?)
Sat Sep 30, 1944Notts CountyA-Draw-
Sat Oct 07, 1944ChesterfieldA1-0Win-Dulson (?)
Sat Oct 14, 1944ChesterfieldH2-1Win6,876Johnson (?, ?)
Sat Oct 21, 1944Mansfield TownH2-5Loss7,626Dulson (?, ?)
Sat Oct 28, 1944Mansfield TownA2-4Loss7,000Beaumont (?), Johnson (?)
Sat Nov 04, 1944Rotherham UnitedA2-1Win-Dulson (?), Inskip (?)
Sat Nov 11, 1944Rotherham UnitedH1-2Loss5,316Johnson (?)
Sat Nov 18, 1944Lincoln CityH2-2Draw-Rawson (?), Elliott (? pen)
Sat Nov 25, 1944Lincoln CityA2-2Draw-Wheatley (?), Beaumont (?)
Sat Dec 02, 1944Sheffield WednesdayA1-2Loss6,000Johnson (?)
Sat Dec 09, 1944Sheffield WednesdayH1-0Win5,893Wheatley (?)
Sat Dec 16, 1944Grimsby TownA1-3Loss2,000Peace (?)
Sat Dec 23, 1944Grimsby TownH1-2Loss5,874Davies (?)

WWII Combined League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Dec 30, 1944Leicester CityH0-0Draw6,788
Sat Jan 06, 1945Derby CountyH1-1Draw18,790Johnson (?)
Sat Jan 13, 1945Derby CountyA0-3Loss12,715
Sat Feb 03, 1945ChesterfieldA1-0Win4,620Stevenson (?)
Sat Feb 10, 1945ChesterfieldH1-1Draw7,298Davies (?)
Sat Feb 17, 1945Notts CountyH1-4Loss7,520North (?)
Sat Feb 24, 1945Notts CountyA2-1Win10,000North (?), Elliott (? pen)
Sat Mar 03, 1945Leicester CityA1-1Draw-Johnson (?)
Sat Mar 10, 1945Mansfield TownH2-1Win10,400Barks (?), Elliott (? pen)
Sat Mar 17, 1945Mansfield TownA0-1Loss7,874
Mon Apr 02, 1945Notts CountyH6-0Win6,920Blenkinsop (?, ?, ?), Martin (?), Simpson (?), Johnson (?)
Sat Apr 07, 1945Coventry CityH1-1Draw6,000Simpson (?)
Sat Apr 14, 1945Coventry CityA1-1Draw3,188Johnson (?)
Thu Apr 19, 1945Birmingham CityA1-4Loss3,000Betts (?)
Sat Apr 21, 1945Notts CountyA3-1Win4,000Leverton (?, ?), Mee (?)
Sat Apr 28, 1945Notts CountyH2-5Loss3,407Elliott (? pen, ? pen)
Sat May 26, 1945Birmingham CityH0-0Draw2,900

Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Wed May 09, 1945Derby CountyEnglandA2-2Draw-Leverton (?, ?)



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and immediately after the season.
In (16) - £0 Out (14) - £0
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
Bert WilliamsBoughtBert WilliamsSold
Billy LinacreBoughtBilly LinacreSold
Colin RawsonBoughtCunningham (1945)Sold
Cunningham (1945)BoughtEF SmithSold
F PayneBoughtFred InskipSold
Fred InskipBoughtGeorge CrispSold
Gordon KaileBoughtJ BeswickSold
JW FirthBoughtJW FirthSold
Peter TaylorBoughtLen BeaumontSold
Ray PaulBoughtR TownsendSold
Roland 'Tot' LevertonBoughtStanley FlewittSold
Tom JohnsonBoughtW GoughSold
Tom NorthBought1939Frank HindleySold
W GoughBoughtJul 01, 1945Peter TaylorSold
William MorleyBought
1944Frederick MartinBought


SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num Country PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
Goalkeepers
GK EnglandBert Williams
GKCunningham (1945)
GKF Payne
GK EnglandLaurie Platts
GK EnglandNorman Wilkinson
GK EnglandPeter Taylor
GKW Styles
GKWright (1945)
GKJ Smith (1944)
Defenders
D EnglandGeoff Thomas (1944-60)
D EnglandJack Hutchinson
DJW Firth
D EnglandRon Guttridge
D EnglandRonnie Hepworth
DS Griffin
D EnglandSam Godfrey
Midfielders
M EnglandBilly Linacre
M EnglandBob McCall
M EnglandBryn Elliott
MDenny Foreman
M EnglandEddie Barks
M EnglandErnest Morris
M EnglandFrank Hindley
M EnglandGordon Brown
M EnglandHorace Stevenson
MJ Beswick
M EnglandJames Cronkshaw
M EnglandJohn Maund
M EnglandKen Powell
ML Thorpe
M EnglandLloyd Iceton
M EnglandNoel Simpson
MR Oxley
MRay Paul
M WalesRobert Davies
MRon Peace
M EnglandTanner Allen
M EnglandTed Blagg
M EnglandTom Blenkinsop
M EnglandTom Waring
M EnglandVictor Walker
M EnglandWilliam Baxter
M EnglandWilliam Morley
Forwards
F EnglandColin Rawson
F EnglandEric Betts
FFrank Johnson
F EnglandFred Inskip
F EnglandFrederick Martin
F WalesGeorge Crisp
F EnglandGeorge Drury
F EnglandGeorge Mee
F EnglandGordon Kaile
F ScotlandIan McPherson
F EnglandJack Edwards
FLaurie Coen
F EnglandLen Beaumont
FR Townsend
FRalph Dulson
F EnglandRoland 'Tot' Leverton
F EnglandRoland Wheatley
FStanley Flewitt
F EnglandTom Johnson
F EnglandTom North
FW Gough


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
Goals (Pens)PlayerGames


LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score