SEASON: 1940-41


Prev Season: 1939-40
This Season: 1940-41
Next Season: 1941-42
DIVISION:
World War II
MANAGER(s):
FA Cup:
-
League Cup:
-

Top Goalscorer:


WHAT HAPPENED
Due to the Second World War, clubs were split into two regional leagues - Forest were in the Southern League.
There was also a Wartime Cup as well as a Midland Cup; games competed for in the Midland Cup also counted toward the League.
Note: Final league position was decided on Goal Average instead of Points, as not all clubs were able to play a full season of games.

ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
0
Competitive Goals:
0
Goals per game:


LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)
Points Percentage:
%

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored
Conceded
Won By
Lost By

SEASON LEAGUE POSITIONS
Analysis of the league positions
This table shows:
(a) how many days we spent in each of the league positions
(b) how we did when we played teams in each of the league positions.

Position days Record against teams in each position
Forest
Pos
Num Days Opp
Pos
PWDLFAPointsResults (Green=win; Blue=draw; Red=loss)


ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
-
Lowest League Attendance:
-
Average League Attendance:
-
Highest Cup Attendance:
-
Lowest Cup Attendance:
-

MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
0
Yellow cards:
0
Red cards:
0
Own goals (for):
(scored by opponents for us)
Own goals (against):
(scored by us for opponents)
Penalties scored:
0
Penalties conceded:
0
Penalties missed:
0
Penalties saved:
0


Click here for all tables for 1940-41

GAMES
 
Manager for all games: Billy Walker
WWII Main League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Aug 31, 1940Birmingham CityH2-3Loss-Smith (?, ?)
Sat Sep 07, 1940Birmingham CityA1-2Loss-Hunter (?)
Sat Sep 14, 1940Leicester CityH6-3Win-Peacock (?, ?), Smith (?, ?, ?), Barks (?)
Sat Sep 21, 1940Leicester CityA2-2Draw-Antonio (?), Hunter (?)
Sat Sep 28, 1940WalsallH2-0Win-Smith (?), Peacock (?)
Sat Oct 05, 1940WalsallA3-4Loss-Smith (?), Antonio (?), Maund (?)
Sat Oct 12, 1940Northampton TownH1-0Win-Crisp (?)
Sat Oct 26, 1940Stoke CityH3-3Draw-Langton (?), Wood (?), Antonio (?)
Sat Nov 02, 1940Stoke CityA0-5Loss-
Sat Nov 16, 1940Northampton TownA0-7Loss-
Sat Dec 07, 1940West Bromwich AlbionA0-5Loss-
Sat Dec 14, 1940Mansfield TownA1-2Loss-Crisp (?)
Sat Dec 21, 1940Mansfield TownH1-4Loss-Collins (?)
Wed Dec 25, 1940Notts CountyH2-4Loss-Iverson (?), Jones (?)
Sat Dec 28, 1940West Bromwich AlbionA3-5Loss-Clark (?, ?), Brown (?)
Sat Mar 15, 1941Notts CountyA4-0Win-Barks (?, ?), Wood (?, ?)
Sat Mar 29, 1941Stoke CityA0-4Loss-
Sat Apr 05, 1941Stoke CityH3-2Win-Collins (?), Norris (?), Wood (?)
Sat Apr 12, 1941Notts CountyH1-3Loss-Iverson (?)
Sat Apr 19, 1941Sheffield WednesdayA1-1Draw-Clements (?)
Sat May 24, 1941WalsallA7-6Win-Broome (?, ?, ?, ?), Lane (?, ?), Maund (?)
Mon Jun 02, 1941Leicester CityA0-2Loss-

WWII Wartime Cup
WeekDateOpponentRoundLegH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Feb 15, 1941Walsall11A2-3Loss-Crawley (?), Lowrie (?)
Sat Feb 22, 1941Walsall12H8-1Win-Crawley (?, ?, ?), Lowrie (?, ?), Edwards (?, ?), Crisp (?)
Sat Mar 01, 1941Leicester City21H0-2Loss-
Sat Mar 08, 1941Leicester City22A1-1Draw-Barks (?)

WWII Midland Cup
WeekDateOpponentRoundLegH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Jan 11, 1941Lincoln City11H4-2Win1,500Dearson (?), Brown (?), Jennings (?, ?)
Sat Jan 18, 1941Lincoln City12A1-2Loss-Barks (?)
Sat Feb 01, 1941Leicester City2A2-6Loss-Lowrie (?), Crisp (?)

Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Sat Oct 19, 1940Lincoln CityEnglandA3-2Win-Langton (?), Smith (?, ?)
Sat Nov 09, 1940RAF XIEnglandH1-4Loss-? (?)
Sat Nov 30, 1940RAF XIEnglandA4-1Win-Peacock (?, ?), Adams (?), ? (?)



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and immediately after the season.
In (12) Out (9)
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
Bill MorganBoughtBilly WalkerSold
Eddie LangtonBoughtEddie LangtonSold
Eric NorrisBoughtEric NorrisSold
Jack WardBoughtFred MoonSold
Jock WightmanBoughtJack FryerRetired
Joe RutherfordBoughtJames HunterSold
Ken HollisBoughtMitchell (1940)Sold
Lester FinchBoughtR BirdSold
Mitchell (1940)BoughtRobinson (1940)Sold
R BirdBought
Robinson (1940)Bought
Ron BurgessBought


SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
Goalkeepers
GKAlan Wakeman
GKAshley Hunt
GKDoug Westland
GKGil Merrick
GKJoe Rutherford
GKLaurie Platts
Defenders
DBilly Tudor
DCJ Lewis (1941)
DGeorge Cummings
DGeorge Mason
DHughes (1941)
DJack Challinor
DJack Segrave
DKen Hollis
DPatton
DPercy Mills
DR Bird
DReg Brook
DRobinson (1940)
DTom Fillingham
DTommy Graham
DWalter Metcalf
DWilf Copping
DKen Rawson
Midfielders
MAllan Collins
MBill Morgan
MCharlie Elliott
MCyril Trigg
MEddie Barks
MEric Norris
MFrank Broome
MFrank Knight
MGeorge Curtis
MJames Hunter
MJock Kirton
MJock Wightman
MJohn Maund
MMitchell (1940)
MRobert Davies
MRon Burgess
MSandy McNab
MThomas Clark
Forwards
FBilly Walker
FBob Iverson
FClements
FD Pimbley
FDennis Jennings
FDon Dearson
FDouglas Arnold
FEddie Langton
FEF Smith
FEric Houghton
FFred Moon
FGeorge Antonio
FGeorge Crisp
FGeorge Drury
FGeorge Lowrie
FGeorge Pritty
FHarry Lane (1940)
FHarry Ware
FJack Edwards
FJack Fryer
FJack Ward
FJackie Brown
FLes Jones
FLester Finch
FRoebuck
FThomas Peacock
FTom Hinchcliffe
FTommy Crawley
FVoce
FW Cressey
Andy Adams
Henry Wood
Len Dutton


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
Goals (Pens)PlayerGames


LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score