SEASON: 1888-89


Prev Season: 1887-88
This Season: 1888-89
Next Season: 1889-90
DIVISION:
-
MANAGER(s):
-
FA Cup:
2nd Round (Chatham (N) 2-3)
League Cup:
Did not exist

Top Goalscorer:
Tinsley Lindley (3 goals)
GAME COUNTS
Competitive Games:
4
Competitive Goals:
7
Goals per game:
1.8
League Games:
League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)
Points Percentage:
-


GOALS
Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored1 time3 times
Conceded1 time2 times1 time
Won By
Lost By1 time

LEAGUE POSITION ANALYSIS
Analysis of the league positions
This table shows:
(a) how many days we spent in each of the league positions
(b) how we did when we played teams in each of the league positions.

Position days Record against teams in each position
Forest
Pos
Num Days Opp
Pos
PWDLFAPointsResults (Green=win; Blue=draw; Red=loss)


ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
-
Lowest League Attendance:
-
Average League Attendance:
-
Highest Cup Attendance:
5,000 (Chatham)
Lowest Cup Attendance:
5,000 (Chatham)

MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
0
Yellow Cards:
0
Red Cards:
0   
Own goals (for):
0   (scored by opponents for us)
Own goals (against):
0   (scored by us for opponents)   
Penalties scored:
0
Penalties conceded:
0
Penalties missed:
0
Penalties saved:
0


GAMES
 
FA Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayH/AScoreAttScorers
Sat Feb 02, 1889Linfield Athletic1H2-2-Norman (64'), Burton (68')
Sat Feb 16, 1889Chatham2A1-110,000Lindley (?)
Sat Feb 23, 1889Chatham21H2-25,000Tolley (20'), Lindley (27')
Thu Feb 28, 1889Chatham22N2-3-Pike (?), Lindley (?)

Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreAttScorers
Sat Sep 08, 1888Sheffield WednesdayEnglandA2-2-Lindley (?), ? (?)
Sat Sep 15, 1888Mitchell St. George'sEnglandA1-7-Shaw (? OG)
Sat Sep 22, 1888Warwick CountyEnglandH5-0400Tutin (?), Lindley (?, ?), Fox (?, ?)
Sat Sep 29, 1888Sheffield FCEnglandH8-1-Burton (?), Fox (?, 50'), Tutin (?, ?), Lindley (?, 15'), Leighton (12')
Thu Oct 04, 1888Aston VillaEnglandH1-2-Burton (?)
Sat Oct 06, 1888Long Eaton RangersEnglandH0-2-
Sat Oct 20, 1888Sheffield WednesdayEnglandH1-31,000Fox (?)
Thu Oct 25, 1888Preston North EndEnglandH0-2-
Sat Oct 27, 1888Mitchell St. George'sEnglandH1-0-Norman (?)
Sat Nov 03, 1888Hereford UnitedEnglandA6-0-? (?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Nov 10, 1888ClaptonEnglandA2-2-Lindley (?, ?)
Sat Nov 17, 1888Derby CountyEnglandA0-3-
Sat Nov 24, 1888Blackburn OlympicEnglandH2-3-Pike (?), Harker (?)
Sat Dec 01, 1888Notts CountyEnglandH3-07,000Lindley (?, ?), Guttridge (? OG)
Sat Dec 08, 1888Walsall Town SwiftsEnglandH1-2-Tolley (88')
Sat Dec 15, 1888Sheffield HeeleyEnglandH4-1-Tolley (?, ?), Jeacock (?), Burton (12')
Sat Dec 22, 1888Derby JunctionEnglandH3-0-Hind (? OG), Tutin (?), Jeacock (?)
Wed Dec 26, 1888Notts CountyEnglandA1-410,000? (?)
Sat Dec 29, 1888CasualsEnglandH1-4-Burton (?)
Sat Jan 05, 1889Derby JunctionEnglandA2-1-Burton (?, ?)
Sat Jan 12, 1889Sheffield FCEnglandA1-0-Clarke (?)
Sat Jan 19, 1889Glasgow RangersScotlandH2-1-Tutin (?, ?)
Sat Jan 26, 1889CorinthiansEnglandA1-2-Jackson (?)
Sat Feb 09, 1889Linfield AthleticNorthern IrelandA1-36,500Tutin (4')
Tue Mar 05, 1889StokeEnglandH1-2-Tolley (51')
Sat Mar 09, 1889Newton Heath LYREnglandH2-2-? (?, ?)
Sat Mar 16, 1889Small HeathEnglandA0-32,000
Sat Mar 23, 1889Newton Heath LYREnglandA1-32,000Pike (?)
Mon Mar 25, 1889Notts RangersEnglandH0-25,000
Sat Apr 06, 1889ClaptonEnglandH3-2-Shaw (?, 85'), Tutin (?)
Fri Apr 19, 1889Sunderland AlbionEnglandA0-51,000
Sat Apr 20, 1889Glasgow RangersScotlandA0-23,000
Mon Apr 22, 1889BootleEnglandA0-5-

Testimonial
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreAttScorers
Sat Mar 30, 1889Notts CountyEnglandH2-55,000Pike (?), Tutin (75')



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and immediately after the season.
In (8) - £0 Out (9) - £0
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
AE PalmerBoughtArthur WardSold
Bob JardineBoughtFred BeardsleySold
John BullockBoughtJames LuntleySold
Oct 1888John McPhersonBoughtOliver TutinSold
Joseph SouthallBoughtPikeSold
Tommy JeacockBoughtSalathiel NormanSold
Valentine StevensonBoughtTeddy LeightonSold
Jan 01, 1889Albert SmithBoughtDec 1888Tom WiddowsonSold
Valentine StevensonSold


SQUAD
*Age = Player age on August 1stSeason Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num Player Country Age* P W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
Goalkeepers
GKBilly Moon England20
GK Fred Beardsley England32431
GKHerbert Oakley
GKTom Widdowson England
GKGeorge Whyatt
Defenders
D Charles Caborn31
DFrank Guttridge England22
DFrank Williamson
DHarry Pike England33
DHaydn Morley England27
DHenry Billyeald
DJames Luntley England
DJohn Clements
DJoseph Southall11
DTom McLean Scotland
DValentine Stevenson321
DW Henson11
DWilliam McLeod Scotland
Midfielders
MAlbert Smith England19431
MArthur Pike England2511
MArthur Ward
MGeorge Tutin321
MJohn Bullock Wales
MOliver Tutin
MTommy Jeacock431
MC McAlpine
M John McPherson Scotland21
Forwards
FAE Palmer
FArthur Shaw England19
FFrank Burton England23221
FFred Weightman England
F Frederick Fox England24
FHarry Daft England22
FHarry Jackson England24
F Horace Pike England183211
FOscar Tolley4311
FPike
FTeddy Leighton England2311
F Tinsley Lindley England224313
FTutin11
FBob Jardine Scotland
AH Smith
Arthur Hill
Arthur Marshall
Barton
Ben Warburton England
Bull
D Clarke
E Harker
F Barlow
James Gray
James McPherson
Salathiel Norman2111
T Radford
W Keefe
WA Simkins11
William Guyler England27
William Hancock England2922
Alf Casselton England20
Edwin Wardle England18
Harry Snook
J Tomlinson (1888)
J Young


GOALSCORERS


Number of different scorers: 13
Goals (Pens)PlayerGames
3Tinsley Lindley4
1Frank Burton2
1Horace Pike3
1Oscar Tolley4
1Salathiel Norman2


LEAGUE DOUBLES (FOR)
Home and away victories for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score



LEAGUE DOUBLES (AGAINST)
Home and away losses for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score